The district was incorporated in the State of Indiana on May 16, 1968.

The area designed as the District in 1968 comprised of five counties: Clay, Parke, Sullivan, Vermillion, and Vigo. The City of Terre Haute was designated as the Economic Development Center, while Sullivan and Vermillion Counties served as designated Redevelopment Areas.